«Bertrand Flour's artistic fiber»

***

«Painting»

            Bertrand Flour is keen on painting, because in addition of his training at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris, he has long roamed the Louvre Museum. Got him to draw the Ancients in the presence of Paul Guimezanes (second Rome's prize of engraving and former member of the Casa of Velázquez) in the Departement of the greek antiquities, Etruscans and Romanes, his fascination for the Beauty was total. This «hand-crafted» learning of the painter’s trade has given him at a time to acquire basics and a certain rigour. We feel it especially in his line drawings (ink pen), made with an extreme delicateness, comparable to the marble's purity; he is a mannered artist in the same way as Michelangelo and Leonardo da Vinci.

            Botticelli, Rembrandt, Rubens, El Greco, Ingres and so many other famous masters have also fed his imaginary, while he was predestined to computerized graphic arts. His taste for the Italian Renaissance or else the Fontainebleau's School with Clouet engraves itself in his works on the computer; Bertrand Flour is only bringing out his painter’s qualities.

             «All that emanates from my being comes from this unshakable love for painting.»

 

Bertrand Flour and Paul Guimezanes at the Louvre Museum in 1988-© Jacques Loïc.

***

«Method»

            «My computer images are realised in the manner of the Ancients, that is to say progressively rising and uniformely the background in shades (red) before putting colour (this painting's ancestral technique permits to raise the subject with shards of light), but my artistic process especially consists of saving the successive stages tied to the creation's process assisted by the computer.

            I use an «electronic stylus» as well as a «graphic tablet» for drawing visual on the screen before having defined an arbitrary format which corresponds to the real dimension of the printed image.

            The different internal functions of the graphic software used allow me then to recast my image in accordance with aesthetic criterias which are not so far from the pictural classicism.   

            A computerised graphic work is so the result of many successive stages in the same way as a master's painting, that is why first of all I concentrate on the tree view of the subject.

            The numerical printing is the final phase also requiring a savoir-faire for materialising my images, because machines are only vulgar tools that the plastic artist has to manipulate with ease.»

            Bertrand Flour, in line with David, is distinguishable because of his taste for modernity.

            «I am terribly classical in spite of my fascination for the electronic arts.»

            «I aspire to a new art with pictorial resonances.»

***

«Art and Medecine»

            Bertrand Flour likes to dissect the human body because it contains the life. A rare matter that the intellect sublimates at the discretion of fantaysis. It's Leonardo da Vinci's anatomical plates which have captivated his attention and he has a real fascination for the physicist Andrea Vesalius' works.

            His passion for the purple red of our carved flesh is a manner to touch the quintessence. 

            Bertrand Flour incises with his pencil a marvellous and fragile epidermis.

            «I like to dissect the flesh with an imaginary scalpel.»

             «To observe the smallest ribs of human body is an infinite ecstasy.»

             «The human body is a heap of keen flesh.»

***

«Art and Religion»

            Bertrand Flour is agnostic, and yet sensible to the «Pensées» of Pascal. His heart vibrates according to his emotions; nothing really destines him to the biblical message if it's not the emblematic cross.

            «This religious sign finishes to haunt myself while nothing in me is coming from Catholicism.»

            «My being cannot differently live than without religion in this occult world where the divine light surpasses all forms of belief.»

            «God is the absolute truth in all disoriented being.»

            «My being cannot submit to the authority of a religion.»

            «Live without dogmatism is the principal liberty that my being alone cannot transgress without losing faith.»

***

«Art and Cosmogony»

            Bertrand Flour likes to sound out the cosmic black: regenerative substance for beings taken with spirituality.

            The universe's fringes are circles than the-inspired-creator fit in a part of his brain. Nothing cannot distort his overflowing imagination which swell itself from so many original matter.

            Obscure worlds left to the Poet (celestial star).

             «Troubling sensation than that total black espousing the dreams.»        

             «My soul roams in the celestial delight.»

             «This eternal black take away our lonely souls.»

             «A saint obscurity seep across the void.»

             «Touch the Eternal by sounding obscurity.»

             «Work on the absolute black as like if nothing cannot be more stronger than the void.»

***

«Art and Feminity»

            Bertrand Flour is captivated by woman, especially if she is becoming his muse. This goddess with breasts naked inebriate his spirit by lulling him with romantic desires.

            Aphrodite and her concubines have weaved a golden thread around his being…

            «Her body is a blazing armor versus the adversity that the Poet covers with tender kisses.»

            «Her neck in alabaster with thousand of intoxicating parfums.»

            «Her beauty in my captivated being transports me to Kythera.»

            «So many women with the sparkling beauty who trouble my soul.»

            «My heart become enamoured of so much love, so many beauties!»

            «Divine artwork with unequaled contours.»

            «Your hair is the most sparkling diadems.»

            «Her heart clinched with diamonds shines in the firmament.» 

 

            «Her hair is a jewellery case with multicolor sparkles.»

***

«Drawings»

 

            A discontinuous (black) line (barely visible) on a white background, composed of lines and points, surrounds the outlines of the female body which is subject to a poetic interpretation (airy) of the goddess Aphrodite that Bertrand Flour skims with a thin metal tip of which quality underlies imagination.

 

            These drawings deliberately refined even minimalist with a decorative style are imprint of musicality if like the artist himself wanted to notify his own sensibility across an oneiric vision of the woman that the Poet, smitten of romantic feelings, reveals at the face of the world.

            «A simple sheet of paper and an (black) ink pencil is enough for me to represent the beauty of Venus leaving ramble my imagination in accordance with a comparable graphic to certain tanagras.»

Drawing No. 5103-2018: «Woman’s chest».

Tanagra-Hellenistic period-Greek.

***

«Professional background»

 

            Turn to imaginary, Bertrand Flour, before coming a real artist searching his own identity, drawn his inspiration to a large number of painters known as modern, like Van Gogh, Gauguin, Dali, MiróPicasso, ModiglianiTanguy, Chagall, etc., but his greatest pride has been to make his first steps side M. Marot (Drawing professor at Collège Chantenay-Nantes) who taught him the intaglio «ex gratia» and allowed him at fifteen years old to enter at École des Beaux-Arts de Nantes in the engraving workshop of Paul Guimezanes.

 

            It’s at the library of the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes that Bertrand Flour, at the dawn of his sixteenth year, documents himself on the pictorial art by reading numerous painter’s notebooks, of which those of Delacroix and Leonardo da Vinci. Desirous of learning the rudiments of the painter’s trade, he applies the «recips» of Xavier de Langlais The technique of the oil painting and of André Lhote Treaty of the paysage and the figure, then he enlarges his universe across the writings of Marc Havel The painting’s technique and of René Huyghe Formes and forces; next he refers himself to his «masters» at Beaux-Arts de Paris.

 

            Regular visitor at the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes and de Paris, George de La Tour awakens within him a base of mysticism, Philippe de Champaigne a surprising authority, Puvis de Chavannes a strange serenity: thus in his spirit, he models such and such painter. Giotto and Fra Angelico are both of them the references, unmissable, at the outset, but it is the writings of Cennino Cennini Treaty of the painting and of Théophile le moine Treaty of the diverse arts which were at the origin of his irrepressible love for the painting.

 

            Patinir, Friedrich, Bruegel, Arcimboldo, Bosch… came one by one to haunt him from his early adolescence; well it’s by impregnating himself of so many masterpieces that Bertrand Flour-at the beginning of the nineties-decides to consecrate himself to the informatic art (images) by claiming that the easel painting is not taught at its current fair value and does not reflects our society.

« La fibre artistique de Bertrand Flour »

***

« La Peinture »

            Bertrand Flour est féru de peinture, car en plus de sa formation à l’École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris, il a longtemps arpenté le Musée du Louvre. Attelé à dessiner les antiques en présence de Paul Guimezanes (second Prix de Rome de gravure et ancien membre de la Casa de Velázquez) dans le Département des Antiquités grecques, étrusques et romaines, sa fascination pour le Beau fut totale. Cet apprentissage « artisanal » du métier de peintre lui a permis à la fois d’acquérir les bases et une certaine rigueur. On le ressent surtout dans ses dessins au trait (stylo à encre), réalisés avec une extrême délicatesse, comparable à la pureté du marbre ; il est un artiste maniéré au même titre que Michel-Ange et Léonard de Vinci.

            Botticelli, Rembrandt, Rubens, Le Gréco, Ingres et tant d’autres maîtres illustres ont aussi nourri son imaginaire, alors qu’il était prédestiné aux arts graphiques informatisés. Son goût pour la Renaissance italienne ou bien l’École de Fontainebleau avec Clouet s’inscrit dans ses œuvres sur ordinateur ; Bertrand Flour ne faisant que mettre en exergue ses qualités de peintre.

             « Tout ce qui émane de mon être vient de cet amour inébranlable pour la peinture. »

 

Bertrand Flour et Paul Guimezanes au Musée du Louvre en 1988 - © Jacques Loïc

***

« Méthode »

            « Mes images informatiques sont réalisées à la manière des Anciens, c’est-à-dire en montant progressivement et uniformément le fond en camaïeu (rouge) avant d’apposer la couleur (cette technique ancestrale de la peinture permet de rehausser le sujet avec des éclats de lumière), mais ma démarche artistique consiste surtout à sauvegarder les étapes successives liées au processus de création assisté par ordinateur. »

            J’utilise un « stylet électronique » ainsi qu’une « tablette graphique » pour dessiner de visu à l’écran en ayant au préalable défini un format arbitraire qui correspond à la dimension réelle de l’image imprimée.

            Les différentes fonctions internes du logiciel graphique utilisé me permettent ensuite de refondre mon image suivant des critères esthétiques qui ne sont pas si éloignés du classicisme pictural.   

            Une œuvre graphique informatisée est donc la résultante de maintes étapes successives au même titre qu’un tableau de maître, c’est pourquoi je me concentre avant tout sur l'arborescence du sujet.

            L’impression numérique est la phase finale nécessitant également un savoir-faire pour matérialiser mes images, car les machines ne sont que de vulgaires outils que le plasticien doit manipuler avec aisance. »

            Bertrand Flour, dans la lignée de David, se distingue en raison de son goût pour la modernité.

            « Je suis effroyablement classique malgré ma fascination pour les arts électroniques. »

            « J’aspire à un art nouveau aux résonances picturales. »

***

« Art et Médecine »

            Bertrand Flour aime décortiquer le corps humain parce qu’il renferme la vie. Une matière rare que l’intellect sublime au gré des fantasmes. Ce sont les planches anatomiques de Léonard de Vinci qui ont captivé son attention et il a une réelle fascination pour les œuvres du physicien André Vésale.

            Sa passion pour le rouge pourpre de nos chairs dépecées est une manière de toucher à la quintessence. 

            Bertrand Flour incise avec son crayon un merveilleux et fragile épiderme.

            « J’aime disséquer la chair à l’aide d’un scalpel imaginaire. »

             « Observer les moindres nervures du corps humain est une extase infinie. »

             « Le corps humain est un amas de chairs vives. »

***

« Art et Religion »

            Bertrand Flour est en proie au doute, et pourtant sensible aux « Pensées » de Pascal. Son cœur vibre en fonction de ses émotions ; rien ne le destine vraiment au message biblique si ce n’est la croix emblématique.

            « Ce signe religieux finit par me hanter alors qu'en moi rien ne vient du catholicisme. »

            « Mon être ne saurait vivre autrement que sans religion dans ce monde occulte où la lumière divine surpasse toutes formes de croyance. »

            « Dieu est la vérité absolue en tout être égaré. »

            « Mon être ne saurait se soumettre à l’autorité d’une religion. »

            « Vivre sans dogmatismes est un principe de liberté que mon être (esseulé) ne saurait transgresser sans perdre la foi. »

***

« Art et Cosmogonie »

            Bertrand Flour aime sonder le noir cosmique : substance régénérative pour les êtres épris de spiritualité.

            Les franges de l’univers sont des cercles que le créateur – inspiré – loge dans une partie de son cerveau. Rien ne peut fausser son imagination débordante qui se gonfle de tant de matière originelle.

            Des mondes obscurs laissés au Poète (astre céleste).

             « Troublante sensation que celle du noir total épousant les songes. »        

             « Mon âme erre dans la volupté céleste. »

             « Ce noir éternel emporte nos âmes esseulées. »

             « Une sainte obscurité suinte à travers le néant. »

             « Toucher l’Éternel en sondant l’obscurité. »

             « Œuvrer dans le noir absolu comme si rien n’était plus fort que le néant. »

***

« Art et Féminité »

            Bertrand Flour est captivé par la femme, surtout si elle devient sa muse. Cette déesse aux seins nus enivre son esprit en le berçant de désirs amoureux.

            Aphrodite et ses concubines ont tissé un fil doré autour de son être…

            « Son corps est une armure étincelante contre l’adversité que le Poète couvre de tendres baisers. »

            « Son cou en albâtre au mille parfums enivrants. »

            « Sa beauté en mon être subjugué me transporte à Cythère. »

            « Que de femmes à la beauté chatoyante qui troublent mon âme. »

            « Mon cœur épris de tant d’amour, de tant de beautés ! »

            « Œuvre divine aux contours inégalés. »

            « Ta chevelure est le plus scintillant des diadèmes. »

            « Son cœur serti de diamants brille au firmament. » 

 

            « Sa chevelure est un écrin aux reflets multicolores. »

***

« Dessins »

 

            Une ligne (noire) discontinue (à peine visible) sur fond blanc, composée de traits et de points, cerne les contours du corps féminin qui est sujet à une interprétation poétique (aérienne) de la déesse Aphrodite que Bertrand Flour effleure avec une fine pointe en métal dont la qualité sous-tend l’imagination.

 

            Ces dessins volontairement épurés voire minimalistes au style décoratif sont empreints de musicalité comme si l’artiste lui-même tenait à signifier sa propre sensibilité à travers une vision onirique de la femme que le Poète, épris de sentiments amoureux, exhibe à la face du monde.

            « Une simple feuille de papier et un stylo à encre (noire) me suffisent pour représenter la beauté de Vénus en laissant divaguer mon imagination suivant une graphie comparable à certains tanagras. »

Dessin N°5103 - 2018  : « Buste de femme ».

Tanagra-Hellenistic period-Greek.

***

« Parcours »

 

            Tourné vers l’imaginaire, Bertrand Flour, avant de devenir un véritable artiste en quête de sa propre identité, a puisé son inspiration chez bon nombre de peintres dits modernes, tels que Van Gogh, Gauguin, Dali, MiróPicasso, ModiglianiTanguy, Chagall, etc., mais sa plus grande fierté a été de faire ses premiers pas au côté de M. Marot (Professeur de dessin au Collège Chantenay – Nantes) qui lui enseigna la taille-douce « à titre gracieux » et lui permit à quinze ans de rentrer aux Beaux-Arts de Nantes dans l’atelier de gravure de Paul Guimezanes.

 

            C’est à la bibliothèque du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes que Bertrand Flour, à l’aube de ses seize ans, se documente sur l’art pictural en lisant de nombreux carnets de peintres, dont ceux de Delacroix et de Léonard de Vinci. Désireux d’apprendre les rudiments du métier de peintre, il applique les « recettes » de Xavier de Langlais La technique de la peinture à l’huile et d’André Lhote Traité du paysage et de la figure, puis il élargit son univers à travers les écrits de Marc Havel La technique du tableau et de René Huyghe Formes et forces ; ensuite, il se réfère à ses « maîtres » aux Beaux-Arts de Paris.

 

            Visiteur assidu au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes et de Paris, George de La Tour éveille en lui un fond de mysticisme, Philippe de Champaigne une surprenante austérité, Puvis de Chavannes une étrange sérénité : ainsi en son esprit, il modélise tel ou tel peintre. Giotto et Fra Angelico sont tous deux les références, incontournables, au commencement, mais ce sont les écrits de Cennino Cennini Traité de la peinture et de Théophile le moine Traité des divers arts qui furent à l’origine de son amour irrépressible pour la peinture.

 

            Patinir, Friedrich, Bruegel, Arcimboldo, Bosch… vinrent un à un le hanter dès sa prime adolescence ; or c’est en s’imprégnant de tant de chefs-d’œuvre que Bertrand Flour – au début des années quatre-vingt-dix – décide de se consacrer à l’art informatique (images) en prétextant que la peinture de chevalet n’est plus enseignée à sa juste valeur et ne reflète plus notre société.